Board of Directors

PHOTO: WEISER 2022 (Board and Staff at “Tidal Alert” film screening – From Left to Right – Kelly Burkey, Riley Lewis, Lisa Rider, Lee Ferguson, Rick Kearney, Ryan Bethea, Katie Tomberlin, Suzanne Wheatcraft)

Board of Directors


Rick Kearney, President (Otway/Raleigh, NC) – Retired Professor, NC State, Human Resources Advisor, Board Lead for Water Quality for Fisheries Program

Katie Tomberlin, Vice President (Newport, NC)- Advocacy Team, Policy and Lobby Advisor

Susan Land, Treasurer (Morehead City, NC)- North Carolina Justice Center, Deputy Director

Joel Dunn, Secretary (Emerald Isle, NC) – Retired University Administrator/Computer Scientist, IT and Renewable Energy Advisor

Members at Large

Ryan Bethea (New Bern, NC) – Oysters Carolina Owner, Shellfish and Aquaculture Advisor

Jan Farmer (Surf City, NC) – Topsail OFE Coordinator, Advocacy Team, Grants Task Force, Events Planner

Lee Ferguson (Durham, NC) – Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Duke University, Research Advisor, PFAS Advisor

Sterling Gillikin (Newport, NC) – CCRW Volunteer

Bob Marsh (Jacksonville, NC)

Tom Mattison (Jacksonville, NC)  Riverkeeper Emeritus, Wastewater Advisor

Tancred Miller (Morehead City, NC) CAMA Policy & Planning Manager, NC Division of Coastal Management, Event Planner

Rett Newton (Beaufort, NC) Former Mayor of Beaufort, Local Government Advisory Team, Drone Advisory Team

James Tremmel (Newport, NC) – Event Volunteer

Suzanne Wheatcraft (Pine Knoll Shores, NC) Retired Hydrogeologist, Former Board President, Grant Task Force, and Advocacy Team.

PHOTO: CCRW 2019 (CCRW board members and staff with NC First Lady Kristin Cooper. CCRW hosted a roundtable discussion with Cooper and commercial fishermen regarding environmental concerns in their industry.)